Zoom outage left some people locked out of meetings, classes – CNET

down-detector-zoom-aug-24.png

Zoom's outage hit Monday morning, according to Down Detector.

Screenshot by CNET

Zoom is back up after service issues on Monday morning left some people unable to start and join meetings and webinars. The company also said it fixed an issue preventing some people from managing their service on the Zoom website, as well as doing things like signing up for paid accounts. 

"We have resolved the issue causing some users to be unable to start and join Zoom meetings and webinars or manage aspects of their account on the Zoom website," the company wrote on its status page at 10:10 a.m. PT (1:10 p.m. ET/6:10 p.m. BST).

The majority of early reports of problems with the videoconferencing app appear to have come from the East Coast of the US and the southern UK, according to Downdetector's outage map. Zoom said it had identified the issue around 6:50 a.m. PT and started rolling out a fix about an hour later. 

In a statement on Twitter, Zoom CEO Eric Yuan apologized for the outage. 

"Today @zoom_us had a service disruption that affected many of our customers," Yuan tweeted. "We know the responsibility we have to keep your meetings, classrooms & important events running. I'm personally very sorry & we will all do our best to prevent this from happening in the future."

Now playing: Watch this: From security to wallpaper, tips to make Zoom calls go...

1:34

Let's block ads! (Why?)

Comments are closed.