Twitter Does an About Face on Its ‘Blocking’ Change

In one of the fastest turnarounds in social media policy, Twitter backpedaled on the blocking function it introduced just hours earlier. On Friday morning, the microblogging service made a change to the way its so-called EUblockEU function works.

Michael Sippey, vice president of Product at Twitter, quickly moved to let the angry masses know that the company was returning to status quo, reverting the changes to block functionality.

EUWe have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users -- we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe,EU he wrote in a blog post on Friday morning. EUAny blocks you had previously instituted are still in effect.EU

Twitter Users Revolt

HereEUs the backstory: Twitter changed its blocking feature in a way that keeps your public information public even to people youEUve blocked. That defeated the purpose of blocking someone who may be retweeting your posts to others who are bashing you. You may never know they are bashing you.

Put another way, when Twitter altered its blocking function it essentially made it impossible for a blocked user to know that he was blocked. That blocked user could still continue the behavior that caused you to block him. Again, you just wouldnEUt be aware that this person was messaging you or retweeting your posts because your feed wouldnEUt show it. This set off a firestorm of negative chatter about the changes.

EUI wasnEUt able to follow/RT [retweet] people who blocked me as recently as a couple weeks ago. Now I can, they just wonEUt know,EU tweeted a Twitter user named Brian. EUBlock on twitter is basically now just used on yourself. You block your own access, not the person harassing you.EU

TwitterEUs Wisdom

In reverting this change to the block function, Sippey said users will once again be able to tell...

Comments are closed.