Facebook Tightens Privacy Controls

Social media giant Facebook has updated its privacy policy to give users more control over who can view their posts. The new sharing options are similar to those found on Google Plus, which already allows people to decide exactly what they will share and who will see it.

For new users, the default sharing option is now EUFriends,EU whereas before it was EUPublic,EU which meant that everything and anything users put on Facebook could be seen by anyone on the Internet. Since many people do not adjust those settings, people were sharing with the public unintentionally.

Over-sharing is always an issue that social networks must deal with and it is also one of the reasons why some people do not like services such as Twitter that have very few sharing options. Facebook's new policy is not in line with what advertisers would necessarily like to see but it will make things easier for users.

Changing Privacy View

Doing anything that does not provide advertisers with a greater incentive to hand money to Facebook is not the social network's usual modus operandi. This decision, however, seems to be the latest example of Facebook's changing attitude toward privacy and its goal to provide users with what they want, rather than the things that benefit the company's bottom line.

Whenever you are posting on Facebook for iPhone, the app will immediately let you know who will be able to see your post, just in case you are about to post something that the public should not see. EUOn Facebook for iPhone, the audience youEUre sharing a post with is now at the top of the screen, and on Web, people will see a simplified audience selector. WeEUre testing and rolling out similar improvements in other places people use Facebook,EU Facebook said in a statement.

Earlier...

Comments are closed.